May 23, 2015

I’m going to participate in a 5k.

It will be the second one that I have participated in – but the first one for which I have prepared.

Let me tell you about my first 5k. I foolishly thought that my leisurely walks around the neighborhood were plenty preparation to walk a 5k. Wrong. I foolishly did not mentally prepare for the excitement of beginning a 5k with everyone cheering and running. I also cheered and ran. I ran for about 1/2 block. Then my legs cramped. And then I couldn’t even walk at a decent rate and quickly fell back with the people pushing strollers. And then they were passing me. And then I realized a shortcut in the race that would mercifully allow me to not finish last and I took it. But then as you near the finish line, people are there cheering for you. And you feel excited again and you start to run to the finish line. And then you cramp up again. Because you/I didn’t prepare. (Sorry to the person who ultimately did have to finish last because I wasn’t brave enough to take that spot.)

Fast forward a couple of years to today. About a month ago I went to the doctor for a physical and was given a clean bill of health – YAY! But I’m overweight by about 50 pounds and I know that if I don’t become more active (especially now that I have a desk job where I sit all day) I will continue gaining weight and my next physical may end as cheerfully. I saw online where a local orphan ministry will be holding a Color Run at the end of May which will give me time to complete a Couch to 5k program. Almost twice.

My goal for this race is to be able to walk the first part at a decent pace and then run the final mile. I did Week 1 Day 1 this afternoon and it was ROUGH. I technically didn’t finish – I was too out of breath after a few jogs to do more. But I did manage to run-walk for .90 miles (my entire path was 1.6 miles, since I had to walk back from where I ran). Which looks more impressive than it really is, considering 5 minutes of that was the “warm up walk” and I covered a decent distance doing that. And WHY are our brains instantly against us? I got into the car and thought “Well, that was a failure.”

What? No it wasn’t. What part of that was a failure? I didn’t finish…but I didn’t FAIL.

It isn’t failure unless I quit.

What do you think?

