Love

We are all pretty familiar with the “love chapter” in the Bible.  I was listening to Christian radio today and there was a song that started off quoting part of it “If I give all I possess to the poor and give my body over to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I am nothing.” (1 Corinthians 13:3 NIV)

I don’t think that I love people. There are people that I love – I love my family, my friends and (some of) my coworkers…I love those people in my circle. But I don’t love people. They annoy me with their selfishness (But really, it is just my selfishness reflected back to me). I’m annoyed when they cut in front of me in line, when they take the last of an item, drive too slow, drive too fast, or take too long.

If I am understanding the Bible, I’m meant to love people. For a while I interpreted that to mean that I would just make a point to not get annoyed by them. But that isn’t love.  I see people who genuinely love people. I am not one of those. I don’t know how to become one of them. But it seems to be pretty important to love everyone, not just talk myself out of being annoyed by them and calling that love.

“And now these three things remain: Faith, Hope, and Love.  But the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13:13 NIV

What do you think?

