Eden Espinosa

Yesterday was a very long day – after I worked until about 12:30PM it was time to change clothes and get ready to head out of town.  I went to Franklin, Tn to the opening night of a new establishment called The Absinthe Broadway Cabaret.  Their very first guest was Eden Espinosa who I sort of, kind of (a whole lot) like.  I bought my ticket right away when I heard she was coming and incidentally purchased the very first ticket!  Because of that, I was able to sit front and almost-center to the stage and it was fabulous!!

She put on a heartfelt show and my only regret was that the audience seemed to be full of people who had no idea who she was.  How that happened, I’m not sure – I suppose maybe the opening of a new place made it the place to “be seen” for people trying to be all “in the know” of new musical happenings in Nashville.  Because of this, the place was full of people sitting back, arms folded, with an “go ahead, impress me” attitude.  It seemed to be a tough crowd.  My table had eight people sitting at it, two of us were together, and I suppose the other six came with each other.  During the second song, those six people got up and left. Front and center table and they got up and left in the middle of one of her songs.  Naturally, she saw this happen and sort of commented on it after the song.  At this point, I decided that I’m going to be as interactive as I can.  I Woo’d louder than I normally would have, laughed louder at her jokes, and just tried to let her know that I came to her concert because I like her and not because I wanted to “be seen” or “be impressed”.  I didn’t need to be won over. One of my favorite things about the show was watching her husband, Joseph, play the piano.  Songs he has no doubt played hundreds of times, and yet I watched him play with such passion that I could have watched him the entire night.  If the crowd had been better, I might have allowed myself to be drawn in by his playing.

If I had an email for Eden, I would send her a letter apologizing on behalf of the audience.  That I’m sorry it was half-full of people who didn’t seem to appreciate her amazing talent.  That I’m sorry they didn’t laugh when she attempted a Southern accent (which really was quite funny!!) and I’m sorry they were such a tough crowd.  I loved every moment of the show and I would spend the time and money to see her all over again because it was worth it.

Tagged , ,

What do you think?

