Fatty.

Apparently the things I eat really matter.  Huh.

Last week I was only able to go work out once and then over the weekend I sort of forgot that my body wasn’t made of bionic material that could consume whatever I shoved into it’s mouth.  I’m going to be painfully transparent here. 

Saturday morning I was taking my niece to a fundraiser pancake breakfast – but I wasn’t picking her up until 9AM. I woke up at 7:30AM thinking that I was going to starve to death, so I went out for coffee and ended up with a donut.  That I ate in the car. Before I ever left the parking lot. Then I went to the pancake breakfast. I did go hiking for a couple of hours, so that burned 10-15 calories I’m sure. After hiking we stopped to get something “small” to eat. I did get a kid’s meal, but that included a cheeseburger, fries, orange soda, and a rice krispy treat for dessert.  Then only Two Hours later I found myself at another restaurant to watch the Kentucky vs. Louisville basketball game.  Here I announced to the table that I was going to “Eat whatever I want, because this is a special occasion!!” I almost never drink soda, but remember – this was a “special occasion” so I drank 3 very large glasses of Coke.  Along with a massive bacon cheeseburger and fries.  But wait, those weren’t just regular fries! No, no. These had cheese and bacon and ranch for me to dip them in!!  Then, I had 3 cups of coffee. Coffee that I filled with cream and sugar, because that’s the only way to drink coffee.  And then, Kentucky won.  Maybe all the food I consumed help fuel them? Because, fast forward to Monday morning.

I go to the gym feeling all good about myself for making it to the 7:15AM class before work, because I’m so healthy like that. It doesn’t take long for me to realize I have practically zero strength! Simple exercises are now almost impossible for me to carry out. The nature of my class is that the instructor tells me which weights to use, so there is no backing down. I’m doing kettle bell swings with a 25 lb, which last week I did just fine.  This week, I’m dying.  I’m breathing heavy and I even had to stop at one point!!  I’ve never had to stop.  I start to realize that going a week in between classes and my fabulous eating habits over the weekend are really doing me in.  Barely any water, I hydrated on coke and coffee all weekend…it just didn’t work.  I had no idea until this morning how a weekend binge could seriously affect my workout.  Now I know.  Today, I’ve eaten lots of fruit and drank lots of water…tomorrow will be a better workout.

 

What do you think?

