When I Grow Up

The year that lies ahead is feeling very much like my Senior year of high school.  Graduation looms ahead, the thoughts of “what college do I attend next?” and “What will I do for a job?” are ever present.  My Senior year it was easier – I was just 18, living at home with no bills, working at the newspaper as a telemarketer, and I knew that I would attend community college. 

This time around – I’m 33. I live on my own with plenty of bills – and I don’t know what college to attend next. I’m not even certain what career I want to pursue!  I’ve changed my mind so many times – but it’s crunch time.  On Monday, I will turn in the application for a degree and will soon fill out my FAFSA.  That FAFSA is going to have one stubborn question on it.  “What college will you attend in 2012-2013?”

I don’t know, FAFSA.  I don’t know.

The things I do know – in May I’ll have my Associates degree which has been in the making since 1996.  The week after graduation I’m gifting myself a vacation to New York City.  After that…I don’t know. Will I be able to find a higher paying job with an Associate degree? Will I need to get a job to work around a university schedule, or will the school schedule still fit around me?

I’m very much looking forward to the trip to NYC, I’m guessing it’ll be a good time to “find myself” since I’ll be there almost alone. I’m staying with the friend of a friend in Queens (never been to Queens!) and will be alone during the day.  Any big life changes I’ve ever made have come just after a vacation.  Something about the plane ride? Maybe the altitude clears my head. 

If anything, that vacation will give me some great blog topics – I have no doubt!

It’s a strange feeling to have been working towards this goal of graduation for the last two years solid, and now that it’s here…I almost don’t know what to do with it.

What do you think?

