I Spy With My Little Eye

I was doing something today that required some exertion from my legs and I looked down and what is this I see?  A leg muscle? What?

Yep, there it was, in all its feeble glory.  Actual definition of leg muscle, the only sign I’ve seen on my body that might even hint at the hours I’ve spent at the gym the last 3 weeks.  I know, I know…I probably had far too high of expectations for 3 weeks at the gym. I had hoped I might have lost some weight by now, but I haven’t. I’m also not supposed to be weighing – I promised the gym guy that I wouldn’t weigh for two weeks.  I break that promise every single morning.

Sorry, gym guy.

He gave me this handy little chart to keep up with my workouts – and I’ve filled up one whole side already!  Since I flipped to the other side, I decided that each time I fill up a page I will raise my weights by 5 lbs.  I don’t know how often I’m supposed to raise it, but this seems good to me.  Since I can’t afford a personal trainer – I have to make it up as I go along. 

The 5k is about six weeks away and I feel as unprepared for it as I did when I first started the Couch to 5k.  I can now run for 4 minutes at a time on the treadmill.  This weekend was unseasonably warm and I took advantage of that by hitting the trails.  I meant to run, but walking felt so nice that I never ran.  It takes me an hour to walk 3.5 miles which pretty much guarantees me last place at the 5k next month.  Maybe I can get to where I can run/walk at least the last mile. 

Either that or I can just catch a cab back home.

Except I live in Kentucky and we don’t have cabs just roaming around.  Dang it.

 

What do you think?

