Movie Review: We Bought a Zoo

One of my favorite things to do on a three-day-weekend is catch a Saturday matinée.  I opted for We Bought a Zoo based on a coworkers suggestion.  It really was a great movie – funny and I cried in three different parts.  One part that did bother me about the movie – it’s rated PG, but has about four uses of the “S” word and the “D” word (hint: Tom, Dick, and Harry) and I felt that it was very out-of-place for a PG movie.  Maybe I’m old-fashioned, but I don’t feel like those words belong with a PG rating.  This movie quite easily could have been highly family friendly with the removal of just 5 or 6 words.  It’s unfortunate that they decided to keep them. 

 

 

However, this little girl -Maggie Elizabeth Jones- stole the show.  Cuteness oozes out of her, and I want her to be in every single movie I see from now on…but I don’t want her to grow beyond 7 years old.  She’s perfect!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bottom line – great movie, but if you’re sensitive to the words your children hear (and you should be!) You’ll want to pass this movie up, unfortunately…because it really is great.

What do you think?

