Working Out My Niece

Wait, no.  Not working out my niece.  Working out AND my niece…yes, those are the topics of today’s discussion.

Although it made me feel like I was already making excuses to not work out – I was unable to go work out on Tuesday evening.  I didn’t get home from work until almost 6PM, I had to go to the grocery so I could make cookies for work the next day – and I was exhausted!!  Back up.

Every year at Christmas, instead of having one big dinner to celebrate – we do the 12 Days of Christmas Treats.  There are 12 of us in our office and so each person takes a day.  This way we get to spread it out and each person’s treat gets the full attention that day.  It’s a lot of fun and my day was Wednesday. 

I made cookies and cream cookies, thank you for asking!

What?  Cookies and cream cookies?  Yes.  Redundant?  Yes.  Delicious?  Oh man, yes.

I also was dead dead dead tired and had been for a couple of days despite sleeping properly.  I self-diagnosed myself as being low in iron, so after a couple of days of popping Flintstone Children’s Vitamin’s with Iron – I finally felt fantastic yesterday.  Conclusion – I’d be an awesome doctor. 

Back to the story – Yesterday I worked 7:30-4:30, had a work meeting from 5:30-7PM.  After the meeting I decided that I still had plenty of energy and wouldn’t regret making my way to the gym. 

I was right – I didn’t regret it one single bit.   Do you ever regret going to the gym when it’s over?  I don’t think so.  Unless you get hit by a bus or something on your way home…then you might.  Tragedy notwithstanding, I don’t think I’ve ever regretted going to the gym, but I’ve certainly regretted not going.  I did my daily Couch to 5k, which took all of 25 minutes – and came back home to relax knowing I’d accomplished something.

Tonight will be weightlifting.

Until then, I’ll leave you with my niece who is my favorite person ever.  I asked her not long ago if she wanted me to get her a toy or take her somewhere as her Christmas gift.  She quickly said she wants me to take her somewhere.  I asked her “where” dreading the answer (Disney?  The Beach?) She replied with “I want to go to the mall, to Books-a-Million, and Taco Johns.”

Isn’t she just adorable?

Video of my crazy niece!

What do you think?

