Day Five: Completed

I finished my run that I bailed on yesterday.  It was cold at the start and though it wasn’t raining at the time, it had been raining all day, so I was avoiding puddles every few feet.

This week I started seeing things about how running isn’t the best workout option.  How it’s a myth that running will help you lose weight – and while losing weight would be a nice bonus to running, it isn’t my primary reason for training for this 5k.  But I have to admit, I did hope to lose some weight by running.  I’m not bailing on the 5k training, since the reason I’m training to run a 5k is because I wanted to set a physical goal and accomplish it.  The blogs I’ve read about running have said that even though running isn’t good for losing weight, it is great for strengthening your heart.  Since heart problems run in my family – having a strong heart is certainly a HUGE benefit to running.

So I wonder, after I run this 5k, should I join a gym to do weight training?  I’m reading that weight training is by far the best way to lose weight.  I don’t want to be a bodybuilder – but having a nice flat stomach wouldn’t be a bad thing…

 

 

Tagged , ,

What do you think?

