Day Three: Superhero

Day Three: 5 minute warm up walk, 20 minutes of 1 minute run + 1.5 minute walk, then 5 minute cool down.

Today’s run was quite difficult to get through.  I’ve been running in a park, but on Friday the park will be closed until after Christmas (as far as I know?) because they decorate it for Christmas and people drive through to see the lights.  It was very foggy today and I live about a mile and a half from this big graveyard…I thought How cool, running in a graveyard on an extremely foggy night! It didn’t take long for me to change my tune Uh ohh…this graveyard looks flat, but it’s not.  Nope, not really flat at all.  It doesn’t seem hilly until you’re running.  My calves let me know that it is indeed full of slight inclines that felt like mountains.

I started talking to myself during this run.  Is that normal running behavior?  I had to encourage myself out loud.  “You can do this” and “Only 3 more sets” “Only 2 more sets” “Just one more time, I know you can do it!” Out loud – to nobody.  Meanwhile my shins were feeling slightly as though they might burst into flames at any given moment.  Thankfully, they did not.  I was not digging this run while it was going on – but now that it’s over I’m glad I pushed myself to finish.  I’ll pick somewhere new to run next time – somewhere flat.

During my cool down walk, I was struggling and decided to listen to music (I normally don’t listen to anything) but I kept making it shuffle to the next song lol I’ll have to turn that off next time.  The song I’d chosen was Shoshana Bean’s Superhero because it’s very…well, it’s pretty awesome song.  Then again, I’ve not heard anything that Shoshana hasn’t absolutely killed.  Sorry, girl-crushin’ a little bit.  I have a few of those.  But I digress…

I won’t run again until Wednesday – and it’ll be a nice flat spot =)

 

ETA:

My normal heart rate has always been about 100 bpm and I’ve always accepted that because my mom also has a high heart rate.  Today my heart rate was 91 bpm.  91 is pretty significant for me!

Tagged

What do you think?

