Day of Rest

Today is Sunday, and also one of my rest days from running.  The program I’m using says to run 3 days a week leaving one day in between to rest.  I really wanted to get up and run this morning – but I resisted.  One reason I resisted is because I want to follow the program, they’ve set it up that way for a reason.  Secondly, I don’t want this to be something I start with incredible passion and then flame out before finishing.  I can’t tell you how many projects I’ve done that with.  I’m in this for the long haul.  However, it’s supposed to rain all week long – and I know runners run in the rain, but I don’t have the right gear for that.  Hopefully tomorrow, Thursday, and Saturday I’ll be able to find 30 minutes of no rain periods to sneak in my runs.  I’m hoping that Thursday especially isn’t raining because for one – it rained last year on Thanksgiving.  It rained so hard that by the time I got from the car to the inside I was completely soaked from my shoes down to my underwear.  It didn’t help that I stepped directly into a puddle that was as deep as my ankles.

Anyway.

I’m really looking forward to running on Thanksgiving – I feel like there won’t be anybody in the park when I go to run which will be nice.  Although that’s probably when I’ll find out who the hardcore runners are, huh?  And I’m going to be in their midst…as a wannabe hardcore runner.

It’s not raining right now, which is part of the reason I felt so much desire to run…but now it’s time to get ready for church.  Maybe this afternoon I will run day 3 – and not because I’m over-eager, but just due to weather issues this week.

Tagged

What do you think?

