Lofty Goals

I’m going to run the New York City Marathon.

Let me back up.  I’ll start from the beginning.

I’m going to run a 5k.  I’ve walked a 5k, but I’m training to run one.  You see, I can officially say “training” because today I finished Day Number One.  And you know what surprised me?  It didn’t kill me.  Any time I’ve attempted to run I get shin splints pretty bad.  I downloaded an app to help you run a 5k (It’s not Couch to 5k, but I’m not sure what it’s called) and today I did the first day.  Warm up walk followed by alternating walking and running for 15 minutes followed by a 5 minute cool down walk.  It wasn’t easy, but I didn’t get shin splints at all, and other than being out of breath and tired legs – I felt pretty good.  I have a coworker who is a runner – this year she ran a couple of half-marathons, so she’s searching for a 5k that we can run together in January.  If I follow my program I’ll be ready to run that 5k!

After running the 5k, I will start training to run the St Louis half-marathon.  She just ran that one a month or so ago…so that gives me 10 months-ish to work up to a 13.1 miles.  Which you better BELIEVE I will get one of those 13.1 stickers for my car after I finish.

The New York City Marathon.

26.2 miles.

I get it.  This is a goal so lofty that even I have problems believing that I will accomplish it.  I’d give myself a .001% chance that I’ll actually follow through.  But really, why not?  At 21 months away, it’s more than enough time to train for this massive goal.  There is a clear path for attaining the goal.  I just have to do it.  I took the first step tonight, and will continue to take steps until I’m crossing the finish line in the greatest city in the world.

Tagged , ,

What do you think?

