Fasting

“Howbeit this kind goeth not out but by prayer and fasting.

Matthew 17:21

I grew up attending church – but my family is a little bit laid back in their church attendance.  We always went on Sunday mornings and almost always on Sunday nights…but sometimes things like cleaning house or just “being tired” took the place of mid-week service.  I occasionally saw my mom read her bible and my dad somehow just already knew everything that was in the bible, though I never saw him reading it.  I never saw them fast and they never stressed the importance of it. (I suspect that they simply didn’t know.)

We’ve had a new pastor for a year and a half, and the last couple of months has consisted of his stressing the importance of fasting.  I’d fasted before, maybe once a year or so…and our former pastor of course mentioned it, and said it was important, but he preferred to dwell on other things and only mention prayer and fasting in passing.

Now that our pastor has pretty much laid everything else down, all the outward things that seemed important to our previous pastor to constantly talk about, and only talk about prayer and fasting…things are changing at a rapid pace.  All the outward things are still in place (without needing to be taught on every other service!) and things are changing.  I’m starting to really see the power of fasting.  I can’t say I understand it…how does me skipping a few meals unlock things in the spiritual world?  I really don’t know…but it is.

I can’t explain it, but there is no other explanation as to the people that are showing up at church, repenting, being baptized and filled with the Holy Ghost.  Where are they coming from?  If skipping a few meals is what it takes to continue what I’m seeing happen at church – it’s a very small price to pay.

Tagged ,

What do you think?

