Also, I’m a geek

I’m currently 33 years old and something I never imagined I would say is:

I have loved my thirties.

I’m not at all where I thought I would be when I was younger.  Sadly, on paper – not much has changed since I was 19 years old.  I’m still a bank teller (not the same place), I’m still trying to get my Associates degree (one more class and I’ll have it!), I’m still single and I don’t have any children.

If everything is still the same, why am I so different?  Why am I so much happier now as opposed to 19?

Because I’ve finally embraced who I am…I’ve stopped trying to be someone who I’m not.  I’m a geek and I’m proud of it.  I’m not afraid to go places by myself…movies, theatre, restaurants, or almost anywhere.  Which means that I’m allowed by fully be myself without trying to convince somebody else to be those things with me.  I’ve fully realized that life is not a destination, it’s a journey…although that’s horribly cliché, once you realize it – it almost changes the whole mood of your life.  I still have to remind myself of it occasionally. 

For example:  Yesterday I was thinking about how it would be so fun to play an instrument in a theatre orchestra.  Today I was thinking of it again and thought “if I had it to do over, I’d make that a goal.”

(Imagine the sound of breaks squealing)

What do I mean, if I had it to do over?  Sure I don’t play an instrument – but why can’t that still be attained?  I can still learn an instrument and play in an orchestra!  So I’m adding that to my bucket list.

Here is a list of a few things I’ve embraced about myself in my 30’s (some of these trickle back to my late 20’s but have been further embraced recently)

THEATRE

If it’s on a stage with real people – I’m in.  Before I had fully embraced my theatre geek I had the opportunity to see Phantom of the Opera on Broadway.  I’m thankful I was a fan of theatre so the opportunity wasn’t lost on me…but I’m a much bigger fan now and hope to go back someday.  My favorite show I’ve seen is Wicked – and my blog address is taken from a line from Wicked.

I’m going to see Wicked again at the end of October – I’m so excited!  I’d love to make it a yearly event for as long as it’s playing. 

Rent

I’ve not had the opportunity to see this play live.  Recently it’s had a revival off-Broadway, but since I live about 15 hours from NYC – I haven’t seen it.  I have seen a recording of the play, I’ve seen the movie, and although it deals with a very controversial topic…it moved me. 

Also, Idina Menzel is pretty amazing and she originated the role of Elphaba in Wicked and Maureen in Rent.  I couldn’t be happier that she’s back on Glee this season. 

GEOCACHE

Here is something that I only learned about this year – Geocaching.  I love it.  Love.  It.  If you don’t know what it is, Wikipedia it, because I’m still learning it myself.  It won’t be long until I’m walking around looking like this guy, though.

If you ever see me walking around like this – you can celebrate for me, because I will have reached a point in my life of complete acceptance of who I am.  Unashamed of being a geeky Geocacher.  Although I’m already well on my way because when people give me weird looks for any of my interests…in my teens and 20’s I would have changed my opinions to keep from being different.  In my 30’s if you look at me funny when I mention something, I just mark you off the list of possible companions for that particular activity =)

Tagged , , , , ,

What do you think?

