Insanity

“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.”

-Albert Einstein

The above quote occured to me during church this morning.  I realized that I’m guilty of this, therefore I must be insane.  It isn’t what the sermon was on – but this is what I got out of it.  I want a closer walk with God – don’t we all?  I want a more intimate walk with God, I want to be consumed by my Savior. 

I struggle, I admit it.  My human-ness gets in the way.  If I’ve happened to read my bible every day during the course of a week, I find myself at church feeling entitled to God moving in my life.  This of course, is not how it works.  Or is it?  God applies Grace to those who do not deserve it – if they deserved it, then it is no longer grace (Romans 11:6) But should I always be seeking and relying on Grace?  Of course, part of my salvation will always depend on Grace – I will never ever be “good enough” for salvation.  I cannot do enough to earn salvation. 

Am I insane?  By reading a selection out of my bible every day, breathing prayers to God throughout the day – on Sunday I hope it’s been enough to bend me into God’s will, to have purified me so that He can speak into my life.  And then it’s not.  I’m still so full of myself – full of my own flesh, that I’m unable to push into another level with God.  So the next week – I change nothing.  I read a selection out of my bible, breath prayers, and see what happens next week.

Lather, Rinse, Repeat.

The Tabernacle Plan is considered to be a forshadowing of the way we should approach God today – in this dispensation of time. 

First, they made a sacrifice.  Naturally, Jesus was the ultimate sacrifice putting an end to our need to actually sacrifice a spotless animal.  But we are to sacrifice ourselves first.  Laying aside things that we enjoy – but put a roadblock on the path to God.  Things that take up our time or our energy leaving us depleted when it comes to giving time or energy to God.  Did you know that all of the sins that were atoned by sacrifice here – were simply rolled ahead to where Jesus would die for these sins, too?

Next stop in the tabernacle was the Laver – a place to wash up after making the sacrifice.  Even now, sacrificing to God is messy business.  Not literally, of course, but figuratively.  It’s not easy and sometimes I think it would be easier to go catch a goat and kill him rather then sacrifice my own fleshly desires.  This is representative of forgiveness.  At the tabernacle, they literally washed themselves clean after the sacrifice.  Now it is the first step in encountering God – He starts to clean us up after the sacrifice. 

A Menorah, the Table of Showbread, and and the Golden Altar of Incense were next.  These represent worship.  The Israelites were not fit for worship until they had passed the other steps first.  Now they were able to start sending up sweet smells to the Lord.  That is what our worship is – sweet smells to the Lord. 

The Holy Place was a room within the tabernacle that not just anybody could come into.  Even if you’d gone through all the previously mentioned steps – if you were not a priest you were not allowed to stand in the Presence of the Lord.  However, The Holy Place was not the last place!  There was another room seperated by a thick veil that seperated The Holy Place from an even closer experience with God called The Holy of Holies.  When Jesus died on the cross, the veil in the Temple was torn from top to the bottom indicating that anybody could now stand in His presence. 

Even typing this – I never realized that The Holy Place was seperate from the Holy of Holies.  How many times have I made it to The Holy Place in worship and not realized that just a little further was an inner room of His presence?  The place where I just might be consumed by my Savior?  Changed by my Savior?  I’ve seen the lives of people who have undeniably had a true touch of Jesus in their lives.  These people just seem different.  They aren’t common, it’s almost rare to find such a person.  I can only think of a handful of people who fit this description.  Maybe they are the ones who have pushed through to the Holy of Holies.  I want to do that, but I appear to be insane in my attempts. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think?

