Geek in Me

 I just came from watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2.  It was a great movie and it made me think about the whole ride that Harry Potter has been.  I haven’t been with Harry from the beginning.  I casually watched the first three movies before I started reading the books – then I was hooked.  When I started reading, six of the seven books were already released.  Goblet of Fire was the first of the movies I watched where I’d read the book.  Loads of the excitement of Harry Potter was having to wait.  Waiting for the last book, then waiting for the 5th, 6th, 7th and 7thp2 movies.  Theorizing what was happening, reading message boards, debating over what every little line might mean in the book.  Hours I spent pouring over websites and message boards concerning the books.  I absolutely loved it – and no future Harry Potter fan will experience him quite like we have, we who went along for the ride all those years ago. 

Harry Potter brought out the geek in me.  Not only that, it introduced a geek within me that I didn’t even know existed.  I embraced the geekiness when others thought I was crazy – crazy for spending so much time researching Harry Potter online.  For once in my life, I didn’t pretend that something was silly just because people in my circle thought it was silly.  They thought it was silly and I fell in love. 

JK Rowling, thank you for such a great ride.  I’m glad that Harry Potter “walked into your mind” all those years ago, and thank you for having the courage to write his story.

What do you think?

